Feelings

Limitless

“I love you to the moon and back!”

The saying is everywhere: on book covers, calendars, Pinterest, etc. But who even came up with it? And why did they choose the moon as their limit for love?

Call me a killjoy, but every time I see or hear “I love you to the moon and back,” I either scoff or laugh. Every time. Why, you may ask? Because it’s untrue.

I want to love endlessly. I want to love for eternity with no limits, no conditions, and no boundaries. I want to love the way that my Christ and Saviour loves me. I want to love freely.

So why then should we label love? Why should we put a price tag on it or an extent to which we can love? Have we become so stereotypical and tolerant that we will subject our love to a cage just because someone said we should?

There should never be a limit of how far it is to the moon and back that we must love by. Not just that, but any limit. Anything that hinders or builds a wall preventing limitless love should be cast away. It has to be cast away. Because if we don’t learn to love freely, we can never receive that love in return.

Live shamelessly, laugh uncontrollably, and love endlessly.

2 thoughts on “Limitless

Leave a Reply

