Uncategorized

New Year, New Me?

With the new year literally RIGHT around the corner, my mind is flooded with tons of thoughts of preparation for the upcoming year. It’s new year’s eve and I’m haunted by all of it already. Will I actually go through with my resolutions this time? Will this year be better than the last one? (Hopefully.) Is this gonna be the year I get myself together? Can I even make it to the end of 2016 without a mental crisis?!?

As the questions rush through my brain I keep coming back to one familiar saying. “New year, new me.” But is that actually how it works? A good friend of mine had some words of wisdom on this thought: “‘New year new me’ no. It doesn’t work like that. The issues you have will still be there Friday. Things don’t change over night. However, you can leave 2016 better than when you entered it.” The new year doesn’t determine your person. You will still have the same problems on January 1, 2016, as you did on December 31, 2015. What determines the change is your attitude and the effort you make to be better in the new year.

That is why I have taken the liberty to theme this new year.

2016: THE YEAR OF ME

bb4f8a5e93574cf557d5dde606dd9243

The year of me entails many journeys and adventures, much love and much heartbreak, many sorrows and much happiness, but it all hinges on one, single thing: what will you do about it? Will you give in to the heartbreak or will you find new love? Will you succumb to sorrow or will you find happiness? Everything that happens in the new year is up to you and your attitude.

So be the person you’ve always wanted to be. It won’t happen overnight, but little by little, step by step, you will see a new person come to the forefront. Save up for that car you’ve been wanting. Make up your mind to lose those 15 pounds and act on it instead of just thinking about it. Spoil yourself. Treat yourself. Become the awesome person you already are but just don’t have the courage to break out. Be you. And let the year of me make you bolder, braver, and more beautiful than ever. Take 2016 and run with it. Make the year of me all about you.

Happy New Year y’all!

Leave a Reply

